Bird Detail
The 2River View

Authors  •  Poems  •  PDF  •  Archives  •  2River


About the Authors


Philip Brady—the author of three books of poetry and a memoir, To Prove My Blood: A Tale of Emigrations and the Afterlife—teaches at Youngstown State University, where he directs the Poetry Center and Etruscan Press, and plays in the New-Celtic band, Brady's Leap.

Therese L. Broderick—resident of upstate New York and recipient of the 2006 Intro Journals Project Award given by the Association of Writers and Writing Progrms—has had poems recently in Barnwood and Spoon River Poetry Review.

Ryan Collins is a former editor of Columbia Poetry Review. His poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Black Clock, Cranky, Dead Horse Review, Keep Going, Word Riot and Verse Daily. He works as the Literary Arts Administrator for regional arts non-profit Quad City Arts, and plays drums in the rock band Sharks.

Lydia R. Cooper will receive her Ph.D. in English Literature from Baylor University in 2008. She has written and published on Cormac McCarthy, the subject of her dissertation.

Michael A. Flanagan—born in the Bronx—recently returned to the states after living for six years on a small Island in Northeastern Canada. Poems of his have appeared in many small press periodicals across the country.

Nancy A. Henry, a five-time Pushcart Prize nominee, lives near Portland, Maine. Her book Our Lady of Let's All Sing was published in March 2007 by Sheltering Pines Press.

Kathryn Kirkpatrick lives in North Carolina and is a Professor of English at Appalachian State University. She is the author of three collections of poetry, The Body's Horizon (1996), Beyond Reason (2004), and Out of the Garden (forthcoming 2007), as well as two chapbooks, Looking for Ceilidh (2004) and The Master's Wife (2004).

Laura McCullough is the author of The Dancing Bear (Open Book Press, 2006) and What Men Want (XOXOX Press, forthcoming 2008). Mudlark recently published a collection of her prose poems, Elephant Anger.

Karen Pape teaches and writes fiction and poetry. Her poems have appeared in publications such Borderlands: Texas Poetry Review and Perigee.

Petre Stoica has been publishing in Romanian since 1957. The translations here in 2RV derive from The Master of the Hunt Visits (Vizita maestrului de vânatoare). Stoica has won numerous literary prizes including the Writers' Union Grand Prize and the National Mihai Eminescu Poetry Prize.


Ioana Ieronim is the author of ten collections of poetry. The Triumph of the Water Witch (Bloodaxe Books, 2006), translated with Adam J. Sorkin, was shortlisted for Oxford University's Weidenfeld Prize. Other books include 41, Dragon Kites over the Mountains, and Escalator.

Adam J. Sorkin's recent translations include Magda Cârneci's Chaosmos, translated with Cârneci (White Pine Press), Mihai Ursachi's The March to the Stars (Vinea Press), and Mariana Marin's Paper Children (Ugly Duckling Presse). Sorkin has received funding and grants from the NEA, Rockefeller Foundation, and Witter Bynner Foundation.

Sally Van Doren is the recipient of the 2007 Walt Whitman Award given by the Academy of American Poets. Louisiana State University Press will publish her winning manuscript, Sex at Noon Taxes, in March 2008. Van Doren lives in St. Louis, Missouri, and Cornwall, Connecticut.


Art from the Underground Series © 2007 by Megan Karlen




about the artist

Copyright 2River. Please do use or reproduce without permission.